Elder Jacob Lattin

Elder Jacob LattinFrom one of Elder Lattin’s recent letters to his parents:
“This last week I read something in Preach My Gospel which I really liked. It was a quote by Elder Oaks that says, “We do not preach and teach in order to ‘bring people into the Church’ or to increase the membership of the Church. We do not preach and teach just to persuade people to live better lives. … We invite all to come unto Christ by repentance and baptism and confirmation in order to open the doors of the celestial kingdom to the sons and daughters of God. No one else can do this”. The first thought I had was “If only people knew this about us.” We sincerely have a desire to make their lives better and we ask for nothing in return. Already, I feel like more people would give us a chance. After that, I reflected a lot more on the part that says “We do not preach and teach just to persuade people to live better lives.” I really liked that because it is so true. The missionary work that we do is definitely a message of peace, love, and tolerance. A beacon of hope and peace in the world. But it is SO MUCH MORE than that. I have a testimony and knowledge that God is our loving Heavenly Father and that He wants us to be happy. To help us achieve this incomprehensible joy, He provided the way back for us through His son, Jesus Christ. The way to return to Him is once more available on the Earth in its plenitude, the truths and ordinances needed for salvation have once again been restored through the prophet Joseph Smith and they are still available to us in His restored church today. It is SO IMPORTANT! I love it:) This work is so great and it is a joy to share it! It is important to share it! And I hope everyone that I talk to understands that:) I hope you all have a wonderful week!”

 Elder Lattin returns home December 28, 2015
Leave a Reply

